Jay-Z Makes History By Topping Billboard 200 With ‘4:44’ Album [PEEP]



In just two weeks of its release, Jay-Z’s 13th studio album, ‘4:44’ earned RIAA platinum certification. Since then it has received a double platinum certification and Jay-Z has made history by topping the Billboard 200 chart and in-turn becoming the artist with the most No. 1 albums among solo artists of all-time. Hov has the second-most chart-topping albums of all-time behind only The Beatles, who have a total of 19, respectively.

Hov did numbers the first week of eligibility selling 262,000 equivalent album units (174,000 traditional sales). Those numbers also became the fourth biggest week for any 2017 album release. Even though

It’s quite an extraordinary feat considering ‘4:44’ was only available on TIDAL exclusively for the first week, which took away from sales. In addition TIDAL didn’t turn-in first week numbers to Nielson Music, making it ineligible for the chart that week. Since then the album has been made available on all formats and physical copies are now available and include three additional bonus tracks.

Beginning in 1998 with Hov’s ‘Vol.2… Hard Knock Life’, all his solo albums have reached No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. His collaborative albums with Kanye West (‘Watch the Throne’), R. Kelly (‘Unfinished Business’), and Linkin Park (‘Collision Course’) have also all reached the top spot.


Check out the Billboard 200 Top 10 below.


1. JAY-Z – 4:44 – 262,000
2. 21 Savage – Issa Album – 77,000
3. Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. – 54,000
4. DJ Khaled – Grateful – 50,000
5. Ed Sheeran – ÷ – 36,000
6. Imagine Dragons – Evolve – 35,000
7. Him – Something to Tell You – 32,000
8. Calvin Harris – Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1 – 30,000
9. Various – Moana Soundtrack – 29,000
10. Drake – More Life – 29,000


1 Comment

  1. Congrats HOV…..still shutting the game down in every aspect of life & the stratigic moves you continue to make. Proving once again that no matter what u do or touch it iconic…I Salute You!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.